The Commodore's Award


The Commodore's Award is given to a person whom the Commodore feels is worthy of recognition for his or her service to Privateer Yacht Club, and often for being a major help to the Commodore.  The silver cup originally belonged to former PYC member Hubert  "Butch" J. Horan (1933-1995) and was returned to the club after his passing by his widow.  Hubert and his wife, Ellen, were enthusiastic Snipe sailors here at Privateer in the '50's & '60's.  Myra Brown was the Commodore when the cup returned to PYC and she used it to create the Commodore's Award.

The roll of winners is as follows:

1997 Myra Brown Kathy Robertson admirable duties for PYC
1998 Bill Museler Steve Morgan behind the scenes workforce in upkeep of PYC
1999 Bill Denes Glenn Myrick, R. Ralston & D. McFarland all the great work they did
2000 Steve Adams Glenn Myrick his work, including hanging deck windows
2001 Terry Myers Kent Overbeck many contributions, including being a prime mover in getting A & B Docks here & installed
2002 Ron Harr Bob Dehart
2003 Kent Overbeck Rob Fowler tireless work w/ persistence & perseverance on A Dock, S Cove Sea Wall, & Junior Program Liason
2004 Scott Cline Bob Hay electrical work on the docks
2005 Bill Robertson Fred Koch tireless work as treasurer and his hard work on B & C Docks
2006 Tom Clark Dick Mullen extensive work in facility upgrades
2007 Steve George Pete Snyder outstanding contributions to PYC & Editor of The Private Ear
2008 Walt Jenison Linda Lesley all her hard work & letting Bryson do so much
2009 Brainard Cooper Guy Campbell all his hard work around the club
2010 David Varnell David Bergevin all his hard work around the club
2011 Dieter Kuberg John Rathjen all his hard work around the club
2012 Chris Cyrul Eddie Graham  extreme dedication & job well done 
2013 Rob Fowler Eddie Graham extreme dedication & job well done
2014 Steve Sherman Walt Jenison always available and capable
2015 Scott Irwin Gary Smith

for getting a tough job done as Dock Master

2016 Linda Knudson Lind Keith Harper always available and capable
2017 Bill Robertson Dee Harwell outstanding Social Director
2018 Guy Campbell Tina Campbell Doing Everything & More
2019 Josh Landers Jan Varnell Always Volunteering
2020 Keith Harper Steve Sherman Always available and helpful


Search The Site


Upcoming Events

Wed Dec 01 @ 8:00AM - 11:00AM
Cleaning Crew
Thu Dec 02 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Pete Snyder Art Class
Thu Dec 02 @ 5:00PM - 07:00PM
Veteran's Songwriting Group
Fri Dec 03 @ 6:00PM -
RC Sailors Club Christmas Party
Sun Dec 05 @ 2:00PM -
Frost Bite Race
Wed Dec 08 @ 8:00AM - 11:00AM
Cleaning Crew
Thu Dec 09 @11:00AM - 02:00PM
Cathy Groff Luncheon
Fri Dec 10 @ 2:00PM - 05:00PM
Veterans Songwriting Group Christmas Party
Sat Dec 11 @ 6:00PM -
PYC Annual Christmas Party

PYC Ship's Store

PYC Store at Coral Reef Sailing Apparel